Geeking Out

It always catches me off guard when I transition midday from a science class to one of my journalism classes. They are so different in their lecture styles. In the sciences, every one arrives two to three minutes to class and prepares their pens and notebooks, sometimes even laptops for note taking. I know what you’re thinking; sure, laptops for note taking. In reality though, about half of the science classes I’ve been in required me to take notes solely on my laptop due to the fact that the information came at me so fast, I could not possibly write it down fast enough. Of course, power points aren’t posted on blackboard because that’s how you’re encouraged to come to class. If you miss class, tough luck. Get the notes from a neighbor, and I say neighbor instead of friend purposefully. There’s rarely a class where you have time to chat with the person next to you. The only chance you have to make a new friend in these classes is if you have a lab attached to it where you have down time while your experiment runs to spark up a conversation.

This is such a polar opposite than the few journalism classes I’ve taken so far, which encourages you to get to know the people sitting around you and learn from them. The learning environment is much more laid back, and generally crams less information into the allotted class time, but really lets you learn that information in depth. The information is usually a skill as well, which is easier to engrain into your brain when compared to a random fact about the digestive system of cows. (Want to hear a song about it? Click here…I would start listening at 00:39)

I think this makes sense because so far I’ve gathered that journalism is a skill based program where science is an information based program. Journalism is looking to turn professionals into the work force immediately after graduation or during their studies, where biology is generally looking to get you into graduate school. In biology, it’s hard to find a job that doesn’t require a grad degree of some sort these days, so the program is where it should be.

All that being said I am such a diehard nerd it’s embarrassing. I’m only taking one biology class this semester and I geek out about it every day. Next week we’re doing a lab on lagomorph identification. Rabbits and hares fall into the lagomorph family, and I love rabbits so much it’s unreal. I had my own business in high school, Blackhurst Rabbitry, where I raised my own rabbits. I even had my own website.

Again, just me geeking out about the sciences. Old news there. But I really am geeking out about all the photography skill I am learning this semester. It’s only week four and I’ve learned so much.

Alright, I better wrap this up.

Nerd Test. Do you find this funny?

If you did, congratulations, you’re a full blown nerd! Welcome to the nerd life!

If not don’t worry. You can still be a nerd if you want to; we’re always welcoming to new members! I laughed hysterically when I first saw this, mostly because I was in organic chemistry lab at the time and we had recently “dropped the base” into acids during an experiment.

Leave a Reply

